Azka Malik

Standard

Over the next two and a half weeks, I will be documenting designers involved in this year’s Fairly Fashionable? challenge. Participants across Australia have just over two weeks to design and create a garment celebrating the ethically sourced fabric they received at the launch on 1st April, which culminates in a Fair Trade fashion show on Fashion Revolution Day, April 24th.

Azka Malik

‘I’m originally from Pakistan but grew up in Saudi Arabia. My family and I moved to Australia in 2012 and it was one of those key moments where life takes a 360 degree spin – all of a sudden your story has a new plot. There were many cultural differences to overcome but my parents bought me up to be a warrior, capable of surviving the toughest situations. A week after my arrival I applied for a fashion course in Fremantle and within two months, I’d won first prize in a fashion competition. This is the moment I realised I had a passion for fashion! In this challenge, I will be working with two pieces from India; a hand embroidered shirt from a women’s collective and a piece of hand screen printed fabric’.

Azka is a fourth generation seamstress whose aim is to establish more opportunities for Muslim women around Australia. She wants to show the world how beautiful women can be in their own skin with the true purpose of making the world a better place for the next generation. Her newly established fashion label Qamar Designs means “the moon” in Arabic and is named in memory of her Grandmother. Check out her Instagram and Facebook page for more.

Comments are closed.