Melissa Westwood

Standard

Over the next two and a half weeks, I will be documenting designers involved in this year’s Fairly Fashionable? challenge. Participants across Australia have just over two weeks to design and create a garment celebrating the ethically sourced fabric they received at the launch on 1st April, which culminates in a Fair Trade fashion show on Fashion Revolution Day, April 24th.

Melissa Westwood

‘I’ve recently been going through a recycling phase; altering old clothes rather than buying new pieces, so when I heard about Fairly Fashionable? I jumped at the chance to get involved. In this challenge I received some great salvaged fabric that was destined for landfill. I want to create something feminine but edgy’.

Melissa was inspired to design her own fabric after completing her studies in Fashion Design and is now in her 2nd year at Curtin University studying Graphic Design. She has a fashion label currently under development, but says she needs to get all of her assignments out of the way first. Her creative endeavours are on instagram.

Comments are closed.