Shakira Usman

Standard

Over the next two and a half weeks, I will be documenting designers involved in this year’s Fairly Fashionable? challenge. Participants across Australia have just over two weeks to design and create a garment celebrating the ethically sourced fabric they received at the launch on 1st April, which culminates in a Fair Trade fashion show on Fashion Revolution Day, April 24th.

_MG_0751_MG_0750

Shakira Usman

‘I heard about Fairly Fashionable? by chance as I was doing a project regarding sustainable fashion and the competition caught my eye.  I want to explore the real meaning of the fabric I received by capitalising on the quality of it’s colour and the way it has been manufactured. My final piece deconstructs how the fabric was created and explores it’s vibrancy to re-create an aura of colours; colours that define emotions such as happiness, strength and the power of a woman’.

Shakira is originally from Pakistan. She has always loved to draw and was interested and curious about designer garments, but her journey into the world of fashion didn’t begin until she moved to Australia in 2011. She has since completed a 3 year Fashion Diploma at Tafe and is now undertaking further fashion studies at Curtin University.

Comments are closed.